Bridging Visas (BVs)

Bridging visas provide lawful status in Australia to eligible non-citizens.


  • There are seven bridging visa (BV) classes and nine subclasses:
    • Class WA - Bridging A (BVA) - Subclass 010 - Bridging A
    • Class WB - Bridging B (BVB) - Subclass 020 - Bridging B
    • Class WC - Bridging C (BVC) - Subclass 030 - Bridging C
    • Class WD - Bridging D (BVD) - Subclass 040 - Bridging (Prospective Applicant) and Subclass 041 - Bridging (Non-applicant)
    • Class WE - Bridging E (BVE) - Subclass 050 - Bridging (General) and Subclass 051 - Bridging (Protection Visa Applicant)
    • Class WF - Bridging F (BVF) - Subclass 060 - Bridging F
    • Class WR - Bridging R (BVR) - Subclass 070 - Bridging (Removal Pending).
  • Depending on the applicant’s circumstances, a bridging visa may be granted automatically or by making a separate application.
  • Applicants may hold multiple Bridging visas at the same time however, only one BV will be in effect at any one time.
  • In general, and with one exception (BVF), all bridging visas may only be applied for and granted in Australia.
  • Bridging visas are Temporary compliance visas and allow you to stay in Australia temporary providing you lawful status.

Contact us if you would like to know more about this visa or need immigration advice.

Please note that the above is not an exhaustive list of requirements. This content is for general information purposes only, it is not immigration advice and must not be construed as such.
While due care has been taken to ensure that the content is kept-up-to-date and correct, the currency and thus accuracy of the information cannot be guarantee due to the frequent changes in migration law.